Conservatives secure North West Norfolk seat

Conservatives secure North West Norfolk seat
New North West Norfolk MP James Wild

James Wild (Conservative) has been elected as MP for North West Norfolk after securing 30,627 votes, almost 20,000 more than his nearest competitor.

Jo Rust (Labour) received 10,705 votes, Rob Colwell (Liberal Democrat) 3,625 and Michael de Whalley (Green Party) 1,645.

There were 46,807 verified ballot papers from an eligible electorate of 72,040, giving a turnout of 64.97%. There were 200 rejected ballot papers.

In a statement, Mr Wild said: “(It is) a huge privilege to be elected MP for North West Norfolk. I’m very grateful to everyone who has put their trust in me to be a strong voice for this constituency. Big thanks to a great campaign team for this result. Let’s Get Brexit Done and move our country forward."

Mr Wild will succeed retiring Sir Henry Bellingham’s seat which he has held consistently since 2001 but was first elected in 1983.

All constituencies in Norfolk except Norwich South are now Conservative held seats.

North Norfolk elected Duncan Baker (Conservative) with 29,792 votes to Karen Ward’s (Liberal Democrat) 15,397. Emma Corlett (Labour) received 3,895 votes and Harry Gwynne (Brexit Party) 1,739.

Mr Baker will succeed retiring Liberal Democrat Sir Norman Lamb as MP for the constituency.

The Conservatives secured their biggest majority at Westminster since Margaret Thatcher's 1987 election victory.

The Latest News in North-West Norfolk

Walking in Water